Yuri Dorn

In one of the genealogy groups I belong to, someone posted a message praising Yuri Dorn of Minsk. He helped reunite parts of her family that were originally from Kletsk, Belarus. My ears perked up, because the Sepersky family is from Kletsk. Someone else from the group also praised Yuri, saying that she got valuable information about her family as well.

I contacted the original poster for more information. She told me that he runs the Jewish Heritage Research Group for Belarus and knows about most families from the Minsk area, where Kletsk is. She did not have any contact info for him, however.

Much to my surprise, I discovered that the scheduled speaker for the next meeting of the Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia is none other than Yuri Dorn himself! He will be speaking on the topic of “Researching Your Jewish Ancestry in Belarus”. I was planning to attend anyway, but now I’m sure to, and I hope to get some time to speak directly with Mr. Dorn about Kletsk.

He will be speaking on April 13 at 7:30 at Main Line Reform Temple. I don’t know if you need to be a member of the Philadelphia Jewish Genealogical Society to attend. I doubt they will be checking membership cards at the door.

Leave a Reply

